When a driver is charged with a DUI (drug under the influence), it only means that the driver is under the influence of either drugs or alcohol that can impair driving a motor vehicle regardless of the substance used. DWI (drug while intoxicated) means that the driver is charged because it was driving while drunk. You need to hire a DUI lawyer if you want to fight your driving under the influence or drunk driving charge with in-depth knowledge, skills, and experience in handling DI and DUI cases. Nowadays, it is hard to win a DWI and DUI case most especially if the police have collected physical evidence against you such as results of blood test, breathalyzers, or urine test. If you refuse a chemical test, a good DWI and DUI attorney can plea your case down to alcohol-related reckless driving or "wet reckless".
If you hire a DWI & DWI lawyer Austin, you have an advantage because of the attorney's familiarity with the court system, ability to navigate complicated administrative procedures and in-depth understanding of plea bargain details. Sentence bargaining is helpful wherein a guilty plea may result in a longer period of incarceration. For instance, you may want to plead guilty to a second DUI if you are made aware of the sentence. First-time offenders can easily plead guilty as it is a minor offense that can be considered, but you need the assistance of a DWI lawyer Austin if it is already your second offense. In Austin and other parts of Texas, the first DUI offense's minimum jail is 3 to 180 days, 30 days to 1 year for the second offense, and 2 years for the third offense. Fines and penalties for the first offense may reach up to $2,000 for the first offense, up to $4,000 for the second offense, and up to $10,000 for the third offense. License suspension for the first offense is 90 to 365 days, and 180 days to 2 years both for a second offense and third offense.
Remember that there is no "look back" period in Texas, so any DUI counts no matter how long it's been. Texas applies an implied consent law so if you refuse to submit yourself to a chemical test, you will be subjected to fines and automatic suspension of your driver's license. Allow an Austin DUI lawyer to help you, contact us now or feel free to check our website or homepage for more details!
For more tips, visit http://www.ehow.com/how_4549628_choose-lawyer.html.